$5.00 Liquid Lipsticks?!

So you guys have probably heard about these magical liquid lipstick everywhere, but they blew my mind to the point where I HAD to write a post on them.  

 

To put the icing on the cake, these magical lippies are $5.00!!  But wait for it, I got these from CVS for buy one get one ½ off so some of these lippies weren’t even $5.00!  I mean you can’t really beat that!

 

If you haven’t guessed by now… the lippies I’m talking about are the new Wet n Wild Megalast Liquid Catsuit Liquid Lipstick.

 

The hype is true.  Hopefully we aren’t too late to the game and this post is beneficial.  Maybe this post will answer your final hesitations or be the final push you need to hunt these down.

 

WARNING:  I could not find these at any drugstore near me.  But by ordering them online, I was able to get the buy one get one ½ off so keep your eyes peeled for that!  

 

(Still Wet Without Flash)                      (Still Wet With Flash)

(Dry Without Flash)                                (Dry With Flash)

I have 5 shades shown in the swatches.  Now let’s jump into a review on each of the shades.  Hopefully this will help you if you need help deciding which ones you should purchase or which shades would work best for you!

 

Nudie Patootie:  If you’re looking for a nude nude NUDE liquid lipstick then this one is for you.  It almost has a concealer look to it.  It is a very taupe-y, brown toned nude.  This tone personally doesn’t flatter me.  However, I love wearing a light layer (it’s hard because it is very pigmented) over a lip liner or on top of Rebel Rose.  By placing it in the center of another lippie, your lips will look pouty and plump, which is never a bad thing.  It’s amazing for adding dimension to the lips.  

 

Nudist Peach:  Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful peachy nude.  The peachy and pinky nudes are my kinda nudes.  This shade will be perfect for spring and summer.  But, don’t get me wrong, it is the perfect pop of color for the winter months as well.   

 

Pink Really Hard:  When I say this shade is PINK, I mean it’s pink.  This is my least favorite out of the shades because it is so pink.  They named it correctly hehe.  This would be a shade I’d wear occasionally.  But, don’t get me wrong, if you can rock this shade go for it!  It is just as pigmented as the others!

 

Rebel Rose:  Shew, this shade has become my everyday go-to lippie.  It is a beautiful mauve tone, which I obsess over.  It is the perfect mixture of cool and warm tones and complements almost every look.  If I had to recommend any of the shades it’d be this one!!

 

Give Me Mocha:  Last, but certainly not least, this shade is beautiful!  However, I won’t agree that it is a ‘mocha.’  When I think of mocha, I think of Nyx Sandstorm.  This color is more of a brick or clay red.  It is a mixture of deep red and brown.  PERFECT for winter!  Just like the other shades, it is so flattering and would go perfect with looks from the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette (review coming soon).  

 

DISCLAIMER:  I did not purchase the vampy shades, not because I wasn’t interested, but because I have a TON of the dark colors and you can only wear those every so often.  So if you’re interested in those, go for it!  Just know they may be slightly patchier because of how dark they are. 

 

Overall, the three shades I’d most recommend are Rebel Rose, Give Me Mocha, and Nudist Peach!

 

Catsuit Report Card:

 

Transfer Proof:  B   – The color is on there to stay, except when eating, which is reasonable in my opinion.  When the color dries though, it is there to stay.  However, coming off when eating may be my fault.  I try to ingest as little product as possible, meaning I wipe off a majority of my lipstick before I eat.  With that said, simply a napkin and rubbing did not fully remove the product.  At the end of the day, I needed a makeup wipe to fully remove it, which is what you want in a liquid lipstick!

 

Cracking: A+++ – I did not notice any cracking whatsoever with this product!  As you can see from the swatches on my arm, you cannot see any cracking from my skin or hair.  It lays beautifully on top of the lips!  It also does not begin to crack throughout the day when talking and laughing.  

 

Dryness – How comfortable is it really??: A    –   Let’s be real all liquid lipsticks are somewhat drying.  It’s inevitable with liquid lipsticks, but for the dryness factor vs. all the others I have tried, this one is hands down the most comfortable!  Literally, the most comfortable liquid lipstick.  Especially compared to Nyx (I love their shades but boy are they dry)!

 

Pigmentation: A+ – One swipe and you natural lip color is g-o-n-e.  You also don’t need to keep dipping your brush into the product.  In this case less is more.  The more product you layer on top the more likely it is to bunch up, which is the case for most liquid lips.  

 

Shade Range:  A+ – Wet n Wild came up with a shade for everyone in my opinion.  They have shades for EVERY season, which is difficult to do.  They also have a color that will please everyone.  Whether you prefer nude, mauve, brownish-red, berry, neon pink, or vampy colors!  Since the price is so low, however, try something new that you wouldn’t normally gravitate towards!

 

Smell: C – The smell is very chemically.  I personally hate this because I try to put the best things I possibly can into my body, which is hard when a product smells like straight chemicals from a factory.  If I could change one thing about this product, it would definitely be the smell… Ick.  BUT, if you are someone who gets headaches if smells linger, this one does not so don’t worry about that!

Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 12.35.49 PM.png

Applicator: A++++ – THIS IS THE SELLING POINT!  I have not yet seen a liquid lipstick with this kind of applicator and guys I am in love.  Liquid lipsticks can sometimes be difficult to apply because of how difficult they are to remove if you mess up (I use concealer).  But as you can see in the picture above, this applicator has a divot in the center to help hug your lips.  The end also has a point for clean, straight lines.  If you’re someone who enjoys over-lining your lips, this product is for you!  You don’t need a lipliner because this does the trick!  But for some reason, it does NOT make your lips look as if they are over-lined!!!!  Voodoo magic I know!

 

Overall, I recommend this product 9/10.  The reason it isn’t a 10/10 is because of the smell!  But if that doesn’t bother you, hunt these down IMMEDIATELY!  Wet n Wild came out and killed the game with these magic liquid lipstick!

 

What are your current favorite liquid lipsticks?  What shades?  We love trying new products so let us know below!  

 

Tweet us @lights_charm or tag us in your pictures on Instagram @northernlights.southerncharm if you get your hands on these wonderful liquid lipsticks!  We can’t wait to hear what you think and if you love them as much as we do!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

