Thoughts From a Skeptic on the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette

The Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette retails for $42.00.  I purchased it when Ulta was offering 20% off everything (LOVE when they do that).  The palette has 11 “ultra-matte” shades so if you prefer more shimmers, this may not be the palette for you.  One shade with a satin finish (Antique Bronze) and two shimmer shades (Vermeer and Primavera).  So this is definitely a warm matte palette, keep that in mind depending on what you’re looking for in a palette.

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-5-15-47-pm

 

First Impression: The Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette

Why was I, at first glance, a skeptic of this seemingly beautiful palette?  Honestly, the colors were not for me.  I WAS not a warm toned person (key word is WAS).  Since I have neutral to cool toned skin, I always stick towards the taupes, mauves, and I love an olive green like Bless Her Heart in the Too Faced’s Sweet Peach Palette (click the link for a full review).  

So to say the least, I was skeptical because this is a warm toned palette.  You get a “Warm Taupe,”  deep oranges, and rich reds.  The only shade I would typically gravitate too is the Buon Fresco, which is a pink-purple mauve.  But I decided to take the plunge and try it out for you guys as well as from Kaylee’s recommendation (she’s obsessed).

 

Packaging:

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-5-16-13-pm

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-5-15-59-pm

 

 

The packaging is sleek and fitting with the title of the palette: Modern Renaissance.  It gives me the vibes of the It Cosmetics Naturally Pretty Vol 1 Palette (we can write a review with swatches on that if you are interested – comment below).  It is a mauve purple velvet material with magnetic closing.  The back of the palette is a little cheap looking.  It is a black sticker with the list of ingredients and such.  It does not fit with the price tag of the palette or the quality of the shadows so I wish that could be improved upon.

 

 

 

Quality of shadows:

Swatches with no primer.  I swatched the shimmer shades (Vermeer & Primavera) in both pictures in an effort to capture their beauty.

(No Flash)                                                    (Flash)

If you have not seen my preferences for shadows from the Sweet Peach post, I prefer shadows that are buttery and creamy over chalky and powdery.  I love a soft, pigmented eyeshadow.  

I have never tried an ABH palette or single shadow prior to this.  I do own quite a few of their other products.

After FIRST use, I WAS SOLD.  ABH has some of the best shadows out there.  There is some kick up but the shadows are SO pigmented you barely have to dip your brush in so there should not be a lot of fall out. It also comes with a decent dual sided brush if that’s a selling point for you!  The brush is a little scratchy on the blending brush side but still blends nicely.  I don’t even have to split up the quality between the mattes, shimmers, or dark and light colors because they are ALL pigmented.  Some of my favorite shades are Vermeer, Raw Sienna, Burnt Orange, Buon Fresco, Red Ochre, Venetian Red, Love Letter, Warm Taupe, Realgar, and Cyprus Umber.  So as you can tell, I’m pretty much obsessed with every single shadow.

 

Here’s the selling point.  These shadows are the MOST blendable shadows I’ve ever worked with.  Whether you apply too much product at first (they are extremely pigmented remember) or you apply just the right amount, they blend like butter.  They also take no time at all to blend.  I’m not just saying that.  When I look at my eyeshadow, that took half the amount of time to blend and looks better than many of my other looks, I am amazed!!  

 

Let’s end with the . . .

 

Palette Report Card

 

Blendability:  A+

Every. Single. Shadow. Blends. Like. A. Dream.

Pigmentation: A+

Seriously, barely dip your brush and make sure to tap off the excess because it is the most pigmented palette I own. 

Versatility: B+  

It’s mostly all mattes and I’m a girl who loves some shimmer shades on the lid so I wish it included a few more to mix it up). 

Packaging: C

I love the front of the palette, however, I’m not a fan of the back.  I think it makes the palette look cheap especially when paying so much money.

 

Here’s the final verdict…  This palette has become my favorite (in a tie with the Lorac Mega Pro 3 and California Dreaming (post coming soon) of course).  I reach for this palette everyday and I honestly feel guilty about not using my others (First World problems I know, how silly).  I considered purchasing a second one just so I don’t run out.  It’s that amazing.  So coming from a skeptic at first… get this palette.  ASAP!

I pray, hope, and dream ABH comes out with a cool toned eyeshadow palette because I will be first in line.  Who am I kidding, after using this palette I will buy probably any palettes they come out with.  

 

I 100% recommend you get your hands on this palette!
Let us know your thoughts or if you want us to do a post on some of the looks we love to do with this palette!

Do you love this palette as much as we do?  What are your favorite palettes we need to try??

Tweet us @lights_charm or tag us in your pictures on Instagram @northernlights.southerncharm the looks you’ve done with this palette or if you have palettes we need to try!  We can’t wait to hear from you!

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

